This article will give you an introduction to the Photo timeline in Android. Some of the things that you will learn:

  • How your Photos and Videos are organized
  • What the different screens and options do

Launch Jottacloud

You launch the application by pressing the Jottacloud app icon on your device home screen. 

The Photos tab

The Photos timeline has two main screen layouts. Photos and Albums. The default view is Photos. You can switch between the two screens by pressing the tab buttons at the bottom of the screen.

The Photos tab is view of all your photos and videos. It shows both photos stored local on your device and photos stored in the cloud. This way you have ALL your photos available wherever you go.

Photos are are organized by time. The latest photo is in top. The oldest photo at the bottom.

Photo capture dates are extracted from photo metadata. Photos are grouped by day.

To display older photos, simply swipe up on the photos list to scroll down.

Scrolling through many thousand photos can be time consuming, so you can use the "scrubber" to scroll down super fast. The scrubber will display as soon as you start scrolling. You can drag the scrubber down to scroll by month instead of photo by photo. Just press the up/down arrows on the scubber and drag.

How do I know if a photo has been backed up?

When Jottacloud discover a photo or video that has not been backed up, it displays a small badge to illustrate it is not stored in the cloud.

During backup, a spinning synchronize badge is displayed. Once the file has been safely backed up, this badge is removed.

Photos without badges have been successfully backed up to Jottacloud.

Selecting Photos

You can select photos and videos in two different ways:

  • Use the options menu (top-right) and choose "Select"
  • Long-press a photo or video

Once you are in select mode you can select multiple photos.

To deselect a photo. Press the selected photo again. To deselect all photos, press the top-left X.

Available options when you have selected photos in the photo timeline are:

  • Deselect all photos (by pressing the X to left in the select bar)
  • Share the selected photos
  • Add the selected photos to an album
  • Delete photos (from the options menu ⋮ )
  • Hide photos (from the options menu ⋮ )

Adding photos to an album

Any time you select a photo, you can add it to an album. Simply press the Add to Album icon in the select bar, then choose the album you want to add it to.

If you don't already have an album, you can create a new one from the same dialog.

Displaying Photos and Videos in fullscreen

Tapping a photo or video in the timeline or in an album will open the photo in fullscreen.

In fullscreen you can apply the following gestures:

  • Tap the photo one time to hide the controls (immersive mode)
  • Tap the photo agin to display the controls
  • Double-tap the photo to zoom in
  • Double-tap again to zoom out
  • Swipe left for next photo
  • Swipe right for previous photo
  • Swipe up or down to exit fullscreen and go back to the timeline or album

The top controls lets you perform the following options:

  • Exit fullscreen - press the top-left X
  • Delete the photo (options menu ⋮ )
  • Hide the photo (options menu ⋮ )

The controls near the bottom of the screen does the following:

  • Open in - Send the photo or video file to a different app
  • Share URL - Create a public share URL for the photo or video
  • Add to Album - Add the photo or video to an album
  • Show Info - Displays metadata information

To start a video playback, simply press the Play arrow on the screen. You pause playback by pressing the Pause symbol.

You can seek in the video by dragging the playback slider.

The Albums tab

The Albums tab is an overview of the albums you have created and shared. It is also the place where you will find albums you follow from other users, and a list the places your photos was captured.

To open the Albums view, simply tap the Album Tab at the bottom of the screen.

You can open an album by simply pressing on the album conver.

There are three album groups; My albums, Shared albums and Places. To display all albums within a group, you press the text group title or number of albums for the group.

My Albums

My albums is a collections of all the albums that you have created. The My albums list is sorted by modification date. The album you laste edited is displayed at the top.

Shared Albums

Shared albums is a list of all the albums you have shared, and the albums you are following from other users.

Create new album

You can press the round + button hear the bottom to create a new album.

Then simply add a title of your choice and press the check mark.

When you open an album, all photos in the album is displayed. Swipe up to scroll down and press a photo or video to display in full screen.

To share an album, you simply press the purple share button at the bottom of the screen. This will create a share URL and open the share dialog on your device. From the share dialog you can select how you want to share the URL.

The three vertical dots ⋮ at the top right of the screen will display the options menu.

  • "Add to album" lets you add photos to the album
  • "Select photos" to select photos or videos in the album
  • "Edit album name" to change the album name
  • "Album settings" will display the album settings

Available options when you have selected photos in an album:

  • Deselect all photos (by pressing the X to left in the select bar)
  • Shared the selected photos
  • Add the selected photos to a different album
  • Remove photos from the album (trash symbol)

Album Settings

Album settings lets you control the properties of an album. You can change sharing properties such as unshare an album or enable / disable other people to add their own photos.

You can also se the list of people following (subscribing) to you album.

At the bottom of album settings page you can delete the album.

To delte an album just press the Delete Album option under Album settings.

Then confirm that you want to delete the album.

If you are following (subscribing) to an album, you can not delete the album. Instead you can leave (unsubscribe) the album. The owner of the album will be notified when you leave the album.

Following a shared album

If you receive a shared album URL and click on it in any other app on your device, you can open the album in Jottacloud. Simply choose Jottacloud to open the app. ALWAYS will make Android remember your choice.

When the shared album URL opens in Jottacloud, you have the option to follow (subscribe) to the album. Simply press FOLLOW near the bottom of the screen to follow the album.

Settings

You enter settings by pressing the settings symbol near the top-right on the Photos tab or the Albums tab.

Account information

Usage information is displayed at the top of the settings page. Here you can see the account name and total amount of used storage.

Backup settings

Under BACKUP settings you can enable and disable automatic backup of photos and videos. If you disable Automatic photo backup, no photos or videos will be uploaded to Jottacloud.

By default, Jottacloud will only backup photos and videos when you are connected to a wifi network. To enable backup over cellular networks, turn on the "Upload over cellular" option.

Read more details about Backing up Photos & Videos on Android

Local device storage settings

Jottacloud can free up storage space on your device by deleting photos and videos that are already safely backed up to Jottacloud.

Read more details about Freeing up space on Android

To free up space, simply press "Free up space on device". Jottacloud will then tell you how many photos and videos can be deleted, and how much space you can free up.

More information and Log out

You can also view help articles and submit support tickets under the "Help Center" option.

App version displays the version number of the app.

To log out of the app, press "Log out". This will require you to log back in the next time you open the app.

Did this answer your question?