Free Up Space is a feature that lets you delete photos and videos from your phone that are already safely stored in Jottacloud. This way, you free up space on your phone by only storing photos and videos in the cloud.

The Free Up Space feature can be used in three different ways on your iOS device:

  • Free Up Space on all photos and videos on your device
  • Free Up Space when selecting photos and videos from your timeline
  • Free Up Space on a single photo or video (read this article)

How to use the Free Up Space feature on all photos stored on your device

To free up space for all your local photos and videos that have been backed up, simply open the main menu and select "Free Up Space".

The app will calculate the number of files and megabytes that can be deleted. To free up space, simply select "Free Up Space" in the confirmation dialog:

When prompted by iOS if you want to delete the photos from the phone, press "Delete" :

Remember to remove the recently freed up photos from the "Recently deleted album" in iOS Photos app. You can read how to do this further down in the article.

How to use the Free Up Space feature when selecting photos and videos from your timeline

To free up space from your timeline you have to start by selecting the photos and/or videos you want to delete locally on your phone. 

Tap and hold a photo or video to select it. A green checkbox will appear in the top left corner of the selected photo or video. You can now tap several photos and videos to select them:

Next you have to open the photo option menu in the bottom right side: 

Select "Free Up Space": 

The app will tell you the number of files and megabytes that can be deleted. To free up space, simply select "Free Up Space" in the confirmation dialog: 

When prompted by iOS if you want to delete the photos from the phone, press "Delete": 

Remember to remove the recently freed up photos from the "Recently deleted album" in iOS Photos app.

Free Up Space and iCloud

Using the Free Up Space feature will delete photos from your local device. If you have enabled iCloud Photo Library on your iOS device, the photos and videos you delete from the device will also be deleted from your iCloud account.

Remove recently freed up photos from "Recently deleted album" in iOS Photos app

When you free up space with Jottacloud the deleted photos and/or videos will be put in an album locally on your iOS device. This means that they will still take up space on your device. 

To permanently delete recently freed up photos from your iOS device go to Photos, Albums and Recently deleted. 

Live Photo and Photo Burst

In Jottacloud for iOS 4.2.1 and above we free up Live Photos, but the The Free Up Space feature does not work on photos that was taken with the iOS feature Photo Burst.

Did this answer your question?