Why do I have to open the app to backup my photos?

To improve battery life on your phone, iOS limits the amount of background time for each app. Unfortunately we cannot override Apple's rules. We will try to upload your photos as fast as we can when the app receives background time, but you likely have to open the app every now and then to continue the uploading.

We recommend that you have the phone connected to wifi and power and keep the app open during your initial upload of photos.

How does it work?

  • We get 180 seconds of runtime in the background before the app is put to sleep after you close the app.
  • Don't force kill the app, then we get no background time.
  • iOS will give the app background time (10-30s) every now and then based on the amount of time you use the app, if you are connected to WIFI, charging, etc. 

The only ones who knows the exact rules for when and how long, are Apple. 

How to improve background uploads:

You can increase the frequency of the app background time by enabling "Allow location updates" in the settings of the app. Allow "Always". That way the app will get 10-30s of background time every time there is a "significant change" in your location (each time the phone moves 500 meters or so). This is the most energy efficient way of location detection and will have virtually no impact on your battery life. 

We do not send your location anywhere.

If you have a larger batch of photos/videos that you want to upload we always recommend that you keep the app open.

Did this answer your question?